Improve Your Photography – The first post


Canon 5d

 


First off I want to welcome you to my new blog about digital photography. Now then, I have been thinking about starting one of these a few years back, when I first started getting serious about photography and wanting to turn my snap shots in to professional looking photographs but I never got around to it. My intention was to document my journey and let the world know how I was getting on, and what I had learned. As I am sure you have already guessed, this never happened because I got so consumed in the world of photography I never had the time. The best laid plans and all that……..

Anyway, that was then and this is now, and now I have more available time on my hands I thought it was about time to start my photography blog. Better late than never, hey.

It is far too late to document my journey in the world of digital photography, however it is not too late to share what I have learnt over the last few years. I am no professional photographer (although I would like to be one day – once the mortgage is paid off and I can ditch the day job) but my skills have definitely increased.

I am self-taught, well using magazines, internet articles, videos, Youtube tutorials and seeking help and advice from other photography enthusiasts, and I have never had a photography lesson or participated in a photography course. I know that if I had the learning curve wouldn’t have been so steep and I would have reached where I am much quicker than I did, but where’s the fun in that? I mean, making mistakes and sorting them out is what learning is all about, and trust me when I say I have made many mistakes along the way.

I shoot a Canon camera as my primary DSLR camera, and always have, so there will be a lot of Canon related posts in my blog. That said, I hope that photographers using other camera brands (including Nikon, Panasonic and Sony etc.) will get some benefit from my ramblings, where I am going to share tips, techniques and photography equipment reviews. I am an accountant by day, so all my ramblings will be un-biased, honest and balanced. Yep, I intend to write no-holes barred posts that will show the “warts and all”.

So, this is just a quick snippet about me, what my digital photography blog is all about, what I intend to share (and how I am going to do it) and the reason for me finally getting of my backside, pulling my finger out and sharing my world of digital photography.

If you have reached this point of this post – well done and thank you! Hopefully you’ll keep coming back and please do feel free to comment and let me know how I am doing, where I am going wrong (how can I improve) and share your tips.

Leave a Reply

